Legendary international DJ, Keb Darge, fell under the spell of this music when his Japanese girlfriend forced him to go down to a ‘Rockabilly’ night back in 1989. As soon as the DJ dropped the needle on Johnny Burnette’s ‘Rockabilly Boogie’ Keb was mesmerized. He was soon hunting down the hideously rare top tunes and slipping thousands of pounds into specialist collectors like Boz Boorer’s back pocket, when the guitarist was not recording or touring with Morrissey. Of course, Keb was then taking these records and introducing them to new audiences in his DJ sets worldwide.

Although it has taken an age to persuade him, Keb has now applied his perfectionist compiling skills to pick 14 killers to grace this fantastic collection. Ranging from the bopping Glen Glenn’s ‘Blue Jeans and A Boy’s Shirt’ to the almost hillbilly Jimmy Johnson’s ‘All Dressed Up’. This is a must-have compilation not only for those who have been oiling their quiffs for decades, but also those wondering what this “rockabilly” is all about. Keb drops you in at the deep end with no easy-going fillers, and you’ll be glad he did.

Keb has written the sleeve notes and with cover art by Robin Banks – this album looks as good as it sounds.

Side 1

01 Blue Jeans And A Boy’s Shirt – Glen Glenn

02 The Woman I Love – Gene Terry & His Kool Kats

03 Sweet Love – Orangie Ray Hubbard

04  Jello Sal – Benny Ingram

05  Lonesome Baby Blues – David Ray

06  Do Me No Wrong – Pat Cupp & The Flying Saucers

07  Cool Off Baby – Billy Barrix


Side 2

01  Let’s Go Bopping Tonight – Al Ferrier & His Bopping Billies

02  Jitterbop Baby – Hal Harris

03  Raw Deal – Junior Thompson with The Meteors

04 Nuthin’ But A Nuthin’ – Jimmy Stewart & His Nighthawks

05  I’m Doing All Right – Jerry Hanson

06  Where There’s A Will (There’s A Way) – Carl Trantham & The Rhythm All Stars

07 All Dressed Up – Jimmy Johnson

Share this:

£ 18.00

Add to Basket

Release Date:

Format: Vinyl Album

Format: Vinyl

Your shopping basket