Bear Family Records presents the second compilation of rockabilly tunes from the catalogs of M-G-M Records and its sub-labels Cub and Metro.

The better-known rockers are Buck Griffin, Marvin Rainwater and Andy Starr, while the less-known performers include Gary Walker, George McCormick, Ricky Scott, Rita Faye, Bob Riley, and Don Ruby, a.o.!

The album includes two country rockers each by Don Gibson and Arthur ‘Guitar Boogie’ Smith!

As always, THEY provide recordings in TOP sound quality!

The liner notes are written by Bill Dahl.

Extensive and richly illustrated booklet with biographical and discographical information.

Dewey Phillips (1926 – 1968), a humorous Dee Jay from Memphis, who regularly introduced white and black musicians in his broadcasts since 1949, wrote Rock & Roll history when he played Elvis Presley’s first single on the radio in July 1954.

From his verbal signature ‘That’ll Flat Git It!’ , Bear Family Records® borrowed in 1992 the title of our long-running label-by-label rockabilly series featuring the record company’s best rocking recordings!

The fortieth issue is dedicated to the catalogs of M-G-M Records and its two sub-labels, Cub and Metro – we first featured rockabilly and rock’ n’ roll on M-G-M before the turn of the millennium. With BCD 15789 ‘That’ll Flat Git It! Vol. 7’ there is no overlapping.

M-G-M Records was founded in 1946 by film production company Metro Goldwyn Mayer as a record label to release soundtracks, but was open to a wide variety of musical genres from the beginning. M-G-M jumped into rockabilly when that genre of music literally exploded in the mid-50s! For our recent visit to M-G-M, we’ve chosen better-known rockers like Buck Griffin, Marvin Rainwater and Andy Starr alongside less popular performers like Gary Walker, George McCormick (part of the country duo George & Earl), Ricky Scott, Rita Faye, Bob Riley and Don Ruby, a.o. Before rockabilly was the order of the day, Don Gibson and Arthur ‘Guitar Boogie’ Smith each recorded two furiously cracking country rockers, which we also present here.

Chicago music writer Bill Dahl has written the extensive liner notes with many biographical details and interview excerpts, and the recordings have been compiled from the best sources, often from our own archives. The lavishly illustrated booklet features some little-known images – another milestone in our groundbreaking label documentation on the history of rockabilly!


01        Troubles (Those Lonesome Kind)            Billy Jack Wills & His Western Swing Band

02        Rockin’ Piano – Outta Tune Guitar           Don Ruby

03        Teen-Age Rebel       Arthur Smith & His Cracker-Jacks

04        I Ain’t Gonna Waste My Time        Don Gibson

05        No Room For Your Kind     Andy Starr

06        Doubt George McCormick

07        Honey I’m Lonesome (The Telegraph Sound)   Sheb Wooley

08        Runaway Heart        Gary Walker

09        Doin’ My Time           Bill Flagg

10        Indian Rock  Randy Atcher

11        The Midnight Line   Bob Riley

12        Shot Four Times And Dying          Bill Carter

13        The Blues Moved In This Morning           George McCormick

14        Bow My Back            Buck Griffin

15        I Didn’t Mean It         Ricky Scott

16        Wicked           Ronnie Isle & The Blisters

17        My Brand Of Blues  Marvin Rainwater

18        Makin’ Up With You            Gary Walker

19        Your Way      Arthur Smith & His Cracker-Jacks

20        She’s A Going Jessie          Andy Starr

21        I Vibrate (From My Head To My Feet)       Conway Twitty

22        One Night Stand      Kenny Lee Martin

23        The Customary Thing         Johnny Rivers

24        Hop In My Jalop       Chuck Alaimo Quartet

25        Bandstand Baby      Jan & Jerry

26        Shake My Hand (Meet Mr. Blues) Jack Turner

27        Jessie Lee     Buck Griffin

28        Everybody’s Got To Go Sometime            Gary Walker

29        I Ain’t A-Studying Baby       Don Gibson

30        Frost On My Roof     Jimmy Swan

31        Dance Me Daddy     Marvin Rainwater

32        We’ve Got Some Dreaming To Do            Rita Faye

Share this:

£ 16.00

Add to Basket

Release Date:

Format: CD Album

Your shopping basket