• Billy Walker’s career spanned a period of almost sixty years!
• Already as a teenager he became a member of the legendary Big D Jamboree in Dallas.
• In 1949 the Texan signed his first record deal with Capitol Records, two years later he landed a contract with Columbia.
• From 1952 he belonged to the Louisiana Hayride and scored his first hit in 1954 with Thank You For Calling.
• Bear Family’s CD album in the popular ‘Gonna Shake This Shack’ series proves that Walker was much more than just the ballad singer on the Grand Ole Opry.
• We present the first fourteen years of his career, from 1949 to 1962.
• Stylistically, the spectrum ranges from Texas honky-tonk, fast shuffles and Tex-Mex-style songs to rockabilly and up-beat pop.
• The CD is rounded off by his early Nashville recordings, including his only number one hit, Charlie’s Shoes from 1962.
• Liner notes by Dave Samuelson in the extensively illustrated booklet.
In a career stretching nearly sixty years, Billy Walker (1929-2006) charmed audiences with his lively stage presence and lilting Texas tenor. Often overlooked and underrated since his tragic death, this new entry in Bear Family’s ‘Gonna Shake This Shack’ series reveals that Walker was far more than a Grand Ole Opry balladeer. Spanning Walker’s first fourteen years on record, this set includes Texas honky-tonk, up-tempo shuffles, Tex-Mex novelties, rockabilly and upbeat pop. His early Nashville Sound hits are here, too, including his only country chart-topping Charlie’s Shoes
01 Whirlpool Billy Walker
02 I’m Gonna Take My Heart Away From You Billy Walker
03 I Can’t Keep The Girls Away Billy Walker
04 I Need It Billy Walker
05 Love’s Got A Hold On Me Billy Walker
06 Hey! Billy Walker
07 You Didn’t Try And Didn’t Care Billy Walker
08 I’ve Got Leavin’ On My Mind Billy Walker
09 A Woman Like You Billy Walker
10 Mexican Joe Billy Walker
11 Fifteen Hugs Past Midnight (Twenty Kisses ‘Til One) Billy Walker
12 Alone With You Billy Walker
13 I Thought About You Billy Walker
14 Where My Baby Goes (She Goes With Me) Billy Walker
15 So Far Billy Walker
16 Headin’ For Heartaches Billy Walker
17 Changed My Mind Billy Walker
18 Charlie’s Shoes Billy Walker
19 Guess Things Happen That Way Billy Walker
20 Willie The Weeper Billy Walker
21 Let’s Think About Livin’ Billy Walker
22 Little Baggy Britches Billy Walker
23 You’re Gonna Pay With A Broken Heart Billy Walker
24 It’s Doggone Tough On Me Billy Walker
25 I’ve Got A New Heartache Billy Walker
26 Viva La Matador! Billy Walker
27 Gonna Find Me A Bluebird Billy Walker
28 Jambalaya Billy Walker
29 Forever Billy Walker
30 Throw Me Out Billy Walker
Share this:

£ 15.00

Out of Stock

Release Date:

Format: CD Album

Your shopping basket