Issued under the rightful title, More Boss Black Rockers, The “Mojo” Man was charged with the (enviable) task of bringing these albums to life. To achieve such an outcome, More Boss Black Rockers Vol. 8: Rock & Roll Baby continues its exploration of Black African American rock ‘n’ roll by mining deep into the heart of a traditional rhythm and blues scene of 50’s America that eventually became rock ‘n’ roll, and where you will hear established artists rubbing shoulders with the obscure. This is merely one segment of the attraction here, because the sounds blaring from the adjacent speakers is often wild in nature, raw and dangerous, just as it is scintillating, not to mention unhinged rock ‘n’ roll. Let’s face it, it’s the kinds of sounds that no doubt left many a jaw gaping as rock ‘n’ roll was ushered into the world for the very first time upon an innocent public, before evolving into the next big thing and continuing to resonate in the present with an equally feisty presence. Quick, there’s a new ticket in town and it’s called rock ‘n’ roll! Perusing the lengthy list of rock ‘n’ roll contenders from the setlist of More Boss Black Rockers Vol. 8: Rock & Roll Baby, any attempt to arrive at a favourite makes for an impossible task because, quite simply, there’s not a dud in the house. With songs about love and its unrequited form, and voiced by artists qualified enough for inclusion, album #8 makes for another exciting addition. Evidence of this can be detected in The Jewels’ ‘She’s A Flirt’, to similar in tone Big Bob Kornegay’s ‘Humdinger’. Elsewhere, the rock ‘n’ roll continues to exhilarate and shows no signs of wilting with Elmer Parker’s ‘You Know I Love You’, Roy Brown’s ‘Shake Em Up Baby’, to a knockout performance from Ernest Tucker during ‘Mirror Mirror On The Wall’, and Chuck Higgins’ feisty and dominant brass instrumental ‘The Rooster’ ensuring such matters. Nathan Olsen-Haines (Koko Mojo Records)

Side A

A1       Ravon Darnell–           Chicken Little

A2       Modest Clifton–         Pretty Little Baby

A3       Marvin And Johnny–  Smack Smack

A4       The Barons –   Who’s In The Sack

A5       Jackie Brensten–         Trouble Up The Road

A6       Roy Brown–   Shake Em Up Baby

A7       Elmer Parker– You Know I Love You

A8       Mercy Baby–  Rock And Roll Baby

Side B

B1       The Rondells  With Ned Jr.–  Good Good

B2       Big Bob Kornegay–    Humdinger

B3       The Jewels –    She’s A Flirt

B4       Ernest Tucker–            Mirror Mirror On The Wall

B5       Bobby Oliver –           All Around The World

B6       Jimmy Sweeney–        What’Cha Gonna Do About Me

B7       Elton Anderson–         Sick And Tired

B8       Chuck Higgins –          The Rooster

Share this:

£ 22.00

Add to Basket

Release Date:

Format: Vinyl Album

Format: Vinyl

Your shopping basket