CD (Digipak) with 36-page booklet, 37 tracks. Total playing time approx. 79 min.

A compilation of Mexican and Latin American artists (1955 to 1963), a homage to the cultural components of the Chicano movement of the fifties, today as up-to-date in terms of border walls as it was then!

Musicians from Texas, California and Mexico, evidence of an independent Mexican rock ‘n’ roll culture – the musical roots of Carlos Santana, the Texas Mavericks and Los Lobos!

The focus is on tougher Rock ‘n’ Roll numbers – this is not ‘La Bamba’!

The title song by Trini Lopez, ‘The Right To Rock’ – a symbol of oppression!

Famous Chicano artists such as Ritchie Valens and Freddy Fender take turns with lesser known colleagues like Los Locos Del Ritmo, Los Xochimilcas and Los Gibson Boys.

Colorful 36-page booklet with biographies and discographic information, a detailed introduction to historical, cultural and political backgrounds, and a variety of rare photos and memorabilia.

Track listing:

01 Bailando El Rock & Roll – Freddy Fender,

02 The Right To Rock – Trini Lopez.,

03 Showdown – Tony Casanova.,

04 Come Dance With Me – Eddie Quinteros,

05 The Hippy Hippy Shake – Chan Romero.,

06 Fast Freight – Arvee Allen,

07 Maybelline – Armando Almendarez,

08 No Seas Cruel (Don’t Be Cruel) – Baldemar Huerta con Los Romanceros,

09 Buen Rock Esta Noche (Good Rockin’ Tonight) – Los Gibson Boys,

10 Pound Dog (Hound Dog) – Lalo Guerrero,

11 Chicken Little – Pico Pete.,

12 La Paloma – Tito Guízár & His El Rancho Rocks,

13 Rock Rollin’ Rock – Los Xochimilcas,

14 Don’t Go Pretty Baby – Danny Boy,

15 Sarah Lee – Bob Orrison,

16 Lindy Lou – Eddie Quinteros,

17 My Little Ruby – Chan Romero,

18 Rockin’ Blues – Chris Montez,

19 Rock Little Darlin’ – Max Uballez,

20 El Rock Rock De La Carcel (Jailhouse Rock) – Baldemar Huerta (Freddy Fender), 21 El Vampiro – Los Gibson Boys,

22 Juque – The Downbeat With Johnny Amelio,

23 Ooh! My Head – Ritchie Valens.,

24 Denise – Chuck Rio,

25 Come On, Let’s Dance – The Carlos Brothers,

26 Dooby-Dooby-Wah – Ritchie Valens.,

27 Hi Yo Silver – Augie Garcia Quintet,

28 Jo Ann, Jo Ann – Johnny Amelio & The Downbeats.,

29 Yea! Yea! Come Another Day – Tony Casanova.,

30 Slow Down Sandy – Eddie Quinteros,

31 La Plaga (Good Golly Miss Molly) – Los Teen Tops,

32 I Want Some More – Chan Romero.,

33 Boogie Woogie Feeling – Tony Casanova.,

34 La Chica Alborotada (Tallahassee Lassie) – Los Locos Del Ritmo,

35 Be-Bop-A-Lula – Los Gibson Boys,

36 South Of The Border – Mando & The Chili Peepers,

37 Mexican Rock & Roll – Unknown Chicano Singer)

Share this:

£ 16.00

Out of Stock

Release Date:

Format: CD Album

Your shopping basket